This is $743 (+$91)… April Costco Run

Over the weekend on Saturday, I did my monthly Costco run. It was a mad house. I almost never go on Saturday and man, it’s a whole different place.

I needed a lot of non-food items like body wash, sunscreen, laundry soap, sponges and dish soap. I also bought some new bath towels, some pajamas for my middle child, socks for my oldest and a pack of blueberry bushes.

I restocked our meat, got lots of food items we can cook on our new Blackstone griddle we got last week to replace our grill that has been broken for 3 years. I restocked produce, seasonings, breakfast items and sides.

We also got to snack on a lot of tasty samples that they have out every Saturday apparently.

Our grand total was $725 but after Uncle Sam got his cut we paid $743.

The additional $91 was at Tractor Supply. Our dog has been having diarrhea for almost 4 weeks on and off. I had taken a fecal to the vet and even got probiotics and it wasn’t helping. I decided to read up on the reviews of the Kirkland dog food we had been feeding the dog (to save money.. since it was labeled sensitive system). Apparently there have been a lot of cases of random loose stool in the last year due to an unannounced formula change. I’m not surprised they softly changed the formula to keep costs low but my dog apparently just can’t tolerate this, so we are back to the Purina ProPlan Sensitive Skin and Stomach which unfortunately is $90 a bag. Her stool was back to normal within 2 days on the higher cost food.

So yeah, this weekend we spent over $800 on household items. Thankfully this is our whole month supply and should not need much from stores within the next few weeks aside from perishables.

I did find out something that I was not aware of and will be utilizing from now on.

Bone in chicken is WAY cheaper than boneless packs. I mean like $3.79/lb for breast tenderloins, $2.99/lb for boneless breasts, $1.69/lb for bone in thighs and 99¢/lb for legs!

Obviously that’s not exactly tit for tat but since my family likes dark meat I can definitely buy bone in thighs and cut the bones out for the cheaper price! Or just cook bone in on the griddle.

I didn’t breakdown my whole receipt this month, but I think it was about $600 of “normal” items when you subtract the towels, clothing items, and nonessentials we bought.

I’m also going to set up auto ship on Chewy for dog food as that will be the cheapest way to get the new dog food over local pet supplies stores.

Happy Monday!

Published by Katherine

Hi there! My name is Katherine. I’m 33 years old and a mama of 3 precious little girls. I am a daughter of God, a devoted wife, an aspiring herbalist, a homeschooling mama and homemaker. I love to garden, read, workout, and enjoy the outdoors.

5 thoughts on “This is $743 (+$91)… April Costco Run

  1. Costco on a Saturday – a very daring thing to do!

    Interesting to hear about the dog food. It makes me wonder about the dry cat food. We’ve had some cats that have a lot of gas and wet stools – but not all of them. Peanut Butter Cup has been the worst, but has been getting better. I try to change up the brands and varieties as much as I can afford. Currently, we’re out of the Kirkland brand cat food. Could that by why Miss Drippy Butt is doing better?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would think that’s a possibility. I didn’t put 2 + 2 at first but when I deep dived into when the diarrhea began it was after my last trip when I bought my most recent bag in March. We have had so much going on it didn’t register. The difference in just 2 days of different food is painfully obvious.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was just talking to one of my daughters about it, and she tells me *all* our cats got the runs for a while. All of them are currently improving.

        Crud. Kirkland brand is one of the few affordable brands that come in the larger bags.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started